top of page

Mid Year Bonus: New Boy


As it is the middle of the year, half way through my challenge, I thought I'd review two books this week. I read this book for the Reader's Cup. It was one of five books we read for Reader's Cup and this one was my favourite. ​​

Herschelle Gibbs (named after a famous cricketer) moves from South Africa to Australia and starts at a new school called One Mile Creek. He doesn't speak English so before school he looks up an Australian slang website and gets weird words off there. When he gets to school he says them to the other students and the don't make sense. He only makes three friends and they do everything together. He loves hockey but there is only one problem they don't play it at the school. But he finds other sports that he likes too (handball). At the school he has two problems; bullying and being picked on for being South African.

My Star Rating:*****

This book talks about how hard it

can be moving schools. We should all make new kids welcome.


bottom of page