top of page

Week 32: The Secret Keepers


My mum got me this book for my birthday from Love That Bookshop Helensvale.

Reuben lives with his mum because his dad died when he was young. He loves climbing (when his mum isn't around) but one day when he was climbing he saw The Directions (the bad group of people who work for the evil man named The Smoke.) So he climbed and sat on a wooden plank and then saw something shiny sticking out of the wall beside him.

He picks it up, it's an old pocket watch. He takes it home and takes a picture of it, then finds that it has 15 minutes of invisibility. He loves the power but then soon realises it leads to more problems. One day when he is out climbing, a girl named Penelope, sees him and says follow me. She takes him to her hideout with her other friends and Reuben says I've got a pocket watch that has 15 minutes of invisibility. They want to find out what 'The Smoke' is doing, so they asked Reuben to find out.

Will Reuben find out what 'The Smoke' is doing and not get found, or will 'The Smoke' find out and get Reuben?

My Star Rating:***

It is a big book, over 500 pages, it didn't hook me like some of the others I've read.


bottom of page